It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!

I didn’t weigh myself today. Just so ya know. The desire was there, and it was great…but I think I might get a little too obsessive over it if I make it a daily habit.

No other workout so far this week. This will not do. I could argue that with grad class, household chores, and preparing for school…I have no time or energy. I have to admit…my energy and motivation has been lacking in the morning. As opposed to last week, I’m finding that when I wake up in the morning this week, I just want to curl up in bed a while longer. This could have to do with the fact that it’s getting cold and rainy outside. Hopefully motivation picks up. Chad closes on the house on Friday, so I believe that a lot of stress will be alleviated. It’s so good to know that the end is in sight!

Now, having started a blog, one might guess that I am an avid blog-reader myself. Of the many blogs that I read, one that I make sure to check on a daily basis is Peanut Butter Fingers. This girl is seriously so cute! I know we’d be best friends if we ever met and hung out. Anywho…so she frequently posts healthy (or healthy-ish) recipes. She recently did a pumpkin recipe spotlight. I love pumpkin. So I had to check it out. And there it was.

Pumpkin Enchiladas.

Something generally associated with being sweet, but in a savory…even spicy recipe. This could be AWESOME! You can find the original recipe here, but I took my own approach. I apologize for the lack of pictures…I was concentrating on making the meal successfully!

Ingredients:

  • approx. 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1/2 yellow onion (chopped)
  • 1/2 green pepper (chopped)
  • 10 oz. can enchilada sauce
  • 1 can pumpkin (I got organic)
  • chili powder (couple shakes here and there)
  • paprika (couple sprinkles)
  • garlic powder
  • 4 Flat Out tortillas
  • shredded Mexican cheese (couple handfuls)
As you can see…I’m not the most traditional chef. I could measure things carefully…but that’s not fun. I take the general idea and use what I have (if and when I can).
Directions:
1. Sautee onion (little grapeseed oil to help along) in deep skillet
2. Throw beef into skillet, cook until nearly browned.
3. Add green pepper, little black pepper for seasoning, couple shakes chili powder (more for spicy), 2 or 3 sprinkles of paprika, and garlic powder. Toss around a minute or two.
4. Add enchilada sauce to the mix, then pumpkin until sauce is combined. A little more chili powder, a pinch of paprika, and a touch more garlic powder added in.
5. Spread a thin layer of mixture on the bottom of baking dish (I think mine was 11×8?…yikes, I’m bad at this)
6. Roll up even amounts of mixture into Flat Out tortillas, line them (flap down) into dish, side by side. Make sure there’s a little left over.
7. Put that left over mix on top of the rolled enchiladas.
8. Sprinkle that Mexican cheese overtop to your taste.
9. Toss that bad boy into the oven at 400 degrees…about 10 minutes.
Presto!
BUT WAIT!! Here’s the thing…
While I really liked recipe overall…I felt as though there were a flavor lacking. A very important flavor.
I decided that this needs some tomato influence. It’s got this really awesome mild pumpkin flavor, but missing a little Mexican flair with the tomato. Next time, I’d throw in probably a half can or can of crushed tomatoes. Otherwise, this is a winner. And I think you’d shock the pants off of people by saying that there’s pumpkin in it.
There you have it. No pictures tonight, or fun workout anecdotes. However, I believe I’ll be re-vamping some of my playlists. I’ve been discovering some new (and old) music.
Leave a Reply

