Hanging in there

Layback - Jan. 29, 2013
Layback – Jan. 29, 2013

Get it? I’m hanging on there! HAHHHH. Sorry.

This particular move was a little more challenging for me because it requires finesse, abs, and leg strength. Just the kind of things I would not normally say I possess. For those not familiar with pole fitness – climbing the pole and squeezing it between your thighs is generally taught early on, though it doesn’t necessarily mean it’s an easy task. The coordination, strength, and skin contact required is not a natural process, and each individual learns at their own pace. In this move, I have my right leg crossed over my left, with the pole aligned with my knee.

In terms of diet – I’ve continued to track my calories on MyFitnessPal.com. I found that with my new routine of exercise, I’m not so stressed out about eating, partially because I know I’m burning major calories, and partially because I’m getting into a routine with eating, too. I don’t want to beat a dead horse (aside: how horrible of a phrase is that?!), but I can’t stress enough how much of a help it’s been to have The Chad on board with me. If he’s eating like crap – I want to eat like crap, too! He’s really kept me honest with my eating and hunger pangs, and supported my Shakeology insanity (let’s be honest – making shakes is annoyingly involved. And cleaning the blender? OY!). I guess the difference with my “Lose Like a Girl” challenge this time around is that I’m accepting help and support, and I have somebody at home and in a supportive group setting to keep kicking my butt.

So far, I’ve avoided the scale. There’s a part of me that dying to see what number is on the scale, but the other part knows it’s more important to FEEL good and to see the progress in my performance in classes and how my clothes fit. This could be the first time in the history of women that I am excited to be weighed at the doctor’s office in March. My appointment is towards the end of the month, so I still have a good chunk of time to keep going with this program.

Almost one month down. A lifetime to go. Yikes…that’s a little ominous. Need some help with a more optimistic ending…

 

Leave a Reply

