Struggle, Strength, Sickness, Slips, Sweets!

First of all…

Happy Valentine’s Day! And yes, I celebrate this holiday – Hallmark created or not – since I just love all holidays. I have decorations and am not afraid to use them!

It is also my 2 year anniversary with The Chad.

Roses are red, violets are blue, you tend to kill orchids, so I got you bamboo!
Roses are red, violets are blue, you tend to kill orchids, so I got you bamboo!

He had this beautiful plant sent to my school. Not gonna lie…I love the attention when I walk down the hall with my “flowers”. Ego strokes are healthy now and then…right?

So earlier this week, I got some sickness. My nose was runny, my throat was scratchy, I felt exhausted, and looked like death warmed over. I managed to make the Supergirl class and a Stiletto Soiree on Monday. The Stiletto Soiree is particularly worth mention because we worked out in heels with a fun chair dance to Rihanna’s “Skin”, then a game of musical chairs, and my friend Lea did a run through of her pole performance for a competition this weekend. Overall, an excellent, girly night. Supergirl was an intense Tabata Bootcamp. Heather (the gym owner) has offered a Tabata Bootcamp registration for $5/month for some of us in the weight loss group. I’m debating using that in addition to my current workout regime. I hesitate because it might just be one too many things for me to keep track of. I already struggle with logging my food and exercise into MyFitnessPal. Anyways – I felt noticeably better after working out.

However, Tuesday was another story. There were many sympathetic stares in my general direction. On top of my illness, my parents had to put down our 16 year-old dog, Cody. I could really go off on a tangent about him, but simply put…he was a good dog that my family loved very much. There’s no doubt in my mind that he is in a better place now. So the Tuesday work day passed by slowly, and I was done by the time I got home. I made the pathetic crawl to my bed and passed out for a few hours. I missed my usual pole class, but there was still pole practice with the PoleKatz. Nobody wanted my disease, and I didn’t really want to pass it on. The Chad and I took Frankie to my parents’ for a little canine love and to watch the State of the Union address. However, the Republican response was more memorable.

Just look away!
Just look away!

Someone forgot to hydrate prior to a big speech! Ruh roh…

Wednesday brought a happier and healthier Maddie…I felt pretty well rested. Went to my Piloxing and Tabata in last night, which felt good…but I know I didn’t perform as well as I normally do.

Then there was today. I had coconut cream pie. It was delicious. I did not track this in MyFitnessPal. I also had some fries that were slathered in cheese and crab meat. And pecan-crusted salmon. And broccoli. But they don’t negate the gastronomic delights that preceeded them. I could be angry, but I won’t do it tomorrow, I promise. I stopped when I felt full, and I enjoyed each bite. But I know it’s important to not let that happen on a regular basis. But there have to be treats in life, yes? I think so.

Does anyone else have really awful feet? There seems to be a solid layer of callous on the bottom of mine. Pedicures are a luxury I cannot afford, but it would seem I desperately need one. In a feeble attempt to help my tootsies, I found a foot treatment on Pinterest. Slather feet in shaving cream, then wrap in a towel soaked in a Listerine/warm water solution (just equal parts of both liquids) for 30 minutes. There were claims that this took off a layer of skin. Mine still feel like pleather. Any suggestions on a remedy would be more than welcome.

2 thoughts on “Struggle, Strength, Sickness, Slips, Sweets!

  1. When I initially commented I clicked the
    “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with
    the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people
    from that service? Thank you!

    1. Patrick – Unfortunately, I think the only person who can change that setting is you. I would take a look at the “blogs I follow” tab and see if there is a place for you to modify your notifications. Hope that resolves your issue!

Leave a Reply

