This, too, shall pass.

It’s not a good time to be a teacher.

Well…in all honesty…I don’t know who exactly has it “good” these days. Personally speaking, my school district is proposing a cut of 150 teachers. That would only make up half of the $22 million deficit. Tensions are high and administrative visits have been frequent. It is consuming, though. And do you want to know who truly suffers?

The kids.

I would go into detail, but I don’t know if there is a word count limit on each entry. And this isn’t exactly the proper forum to express my angst.

But…I’m lucky. I’ve been working out my frustrations and aggravations in classes almost daily. I’ve added to my load an agility class with Frankie. It’s been a great way for me to work out some of his energy in a constructive way – he’s become more responsive to my commands and a more relaxed dog. And I have to admit…he’s pretty adorable leaping over the jumps.

Tonight was also one in the history books for me – I taught my first class at Sweat Like a Girl!! My friend Jen is on her honeymoon in St. Lucia, so I covered her 30-minute Tabata Teaser class. I labored over finding a good timer app for my iPod, creating a playlist that would inspire and excite the group, and picking awesome exercises for the intervals. I know I love me some good tunage…so I’ll share my selections!

Image

They all seemed to like the jams, and it helps that I’m prone to word (and song) vomit. If I have any idea what the words are or could be…I will most likely sing along. We did some burpees, mountain climbers, arm extensions with bands for biceps (flexion) and triceps (extension behind the head), then rounded out our set with bicycle crunches and leg raises with a Bender ball. I got a little creative in between sets and did some balance work with the bender ball in our knees, then push-ups/planks and reverse push-ups with a Spiderman. I found it on YouTube this afternoon and had to integrate it! Click here to check it out 🙂

Now I round out my evening my favorite way…a good, hot shower, coffee, and a cupcake.

Image

Maybe I’ll get lucky and get a movie in with The Chad, or…dare I dream it…a little reading! Ah! I’m out.

Leave a Reply

