Looking Ahead

Despite the beautiful weather, today was spent primarily inside. But much was accomplished. The Chad has been busy putting up items on eBay. If you’re a Cabriolet owner or VW enthusiast, check out some items…

http://www.ebay.com/itm/330907200448
http://www.ebay.com/itm/330907922910
http://www.ebay.com/itm/330907923696
http://www.ebay.com/itm/330907645881
http://www.ebay.com/itm/330907648498
http://www.ebay.com/itm/330907342117

Okay, end shameless plug…

What was I doing? Well, I watched the end of Dick Tracy. Then I actually got ahead on my graduate work. Now, my MO has been to wait until the very last possible second to complete any work of any kind. I generally liked to do my homework in the last hour before I had to leave for class. Class is on Wednesday. I’d say this is a landmark occasion. Score one for the good guys! This is my final course in my Masters program for my Teaching of English for Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL). My previous class was all the research and paper-writing, so now I’m actually conducting a study in my home school. Basically, it’s an effort to diminish the bias in an ESL (English as a Second Language) class. My area has primarily Spanish-speakers that need English instruction, but we also have students from Burma, India, Iraq, Thailand, and other countries. I hate that they don’t receive the same supports as my other students, although I’ve acquired a lot of Spanish skills in my 5 years of teaching.

Plus, I also did some more research towards my efforts in the pole competition. I did forgo an opportunity to practice at the gym for my grad class work. But Heather offered to assist with my choreography and transitions. Yay! The other girls I dance with are equally supportive and willing to help.

Now, what has me most excited…

The Chad and I have been planning our trip to Florida in June! 🙂 This will be our very first vacation together. And I haven’t been to the beach since last September. And honestly…that was not a “beach” trip. It was too cold to go swimming, and I was there for a bachelorette party. But, things like this happened….

Serious (sober) dance face.
Serious (sober) dance face.

I’m beyond excited for Florida. We’re staying in Ft. Lauderdale for a few days at this gorgeous hotel…

Pool daze...
Pool daze…
Sweet dreams...
Sweet dreams…

Thank you, Travelzoo!!

We’ll also trek to both sides of the state to visit my grandparents and his great aunt, as well as some friends in between. I’m pretty certain that I’ll find a house I want to buy and move there as soon as we get ready to leave.

But with this upcoming trip comes the anxiety of wanting to wear a bikini. For the first time…ever…in public…in the United States (I went to Puerto Rico a few years ago and felt more comfortable with my “full figure” among people who spoke a different language). I’m trying to stay away from any dessert-type items and sugary goodness, and make sure I’m eating lots of fruits and vegetables, as well as drinking tons of water. I’m continuing with my workout plan, and I’m actually hopeful that with this upcoming pole competition, I’ll see some more muscle toning and overall strength building. That’d be nice. Of course, nothing comes easy, and there can be no results without consistent effort. As of right now, I’ve feeling strong. I’ve had some temptations (like the most delicious looking lemon cake dessert the other night…ugh!), but I’ve fed my body pretty well.

I still haven’t decided what song I’ll be using for the competition. I need to bite the bullet and just pick one. Hopefully that will be resolved by the next post…

 

Leave a Reply

