Making Time

In the midst of my meltdown last week, I turned to my Sweaty Loser Girl support group from the gym. (These are women that have completed a one month challenge to exercise and track their eating…we have one large group that each month’s participants join when their month is completed) I asked how they manage stress of jobs, working out, eating healthy¬†and having kids.

A lot of them responded that they just tackle one thing at a time. Take a deep breath, realize you’re not in a life-or-death scenario, and you need to make a little time for yourself to unwind and relax. Heather – the gym owner – emphasized that a little time to exercise may even be rejuvenating. Get out the pent up energy, get that adrenaline pumping, and feel more focused on work when it’s time to serious.

Easier said than done, of course.

Today (6/14…even though I began this draft on the 10th) marks the final week I’ll have to complete my research paper and presentation. I’ll be in front of a board of three professors next week at 5 p.m. who will evaluate the content and execution of my study. Not nerve-wracking at all, really. The presentation part doesn’t really concern me, actually. But writing this paper accurately in APA style is a pain in the BUTT!

I have to say…I ended up only teaching Pole Sweat 101 last Saturday – Heather returned from her vacation early due to the tropical storms sweeping the coast, so she asked to take on SuperGirl. No problem, there! More time to sleep and eat a little later! But the exercise felt good.

I’m really digging my PoleSweat playlist…here’s a little sampling of the shuffle…

Sweet Dreams – Eurythmics
Brighter Than the Sun – Colbie Callait
Don’t Stop the Music – Rihanna
Beware (Jay-Z remix) – Punjabi MC
Sex on Fire – Kings of Leon
Lights – Ellie Goulding
Pumped Up Kicks – Foster the People
Let’s Go – Calvin Harris
Last Dance – Donna Summer
Mercy – Duffy
Come On Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners
That’s Not My Name – The Ting Tings
P.Y.T. – Michael Jackson
Finally Found You – Enrique Iglesias
Mr. Saxobeat – Alexandra Stan
On Top of the World – Imagine Dragons
Paradise – Coldplay
Never Gonna Give You Up – Rick Astley
Kokomo – The Beach Boys

Nothing like some good tunes to get your mojo going in class!

I really depend on music for a lot. I need instrumental music for when I work on an assignment. I get way too distracted when there are lyrics to sing along to. Personally…the “smooth jazz” and “film score” stations on Pandora are pretty awesome. They’ve been getting me through hours upon hours on this stupid laptop or highlighting research and data.

And lastly…I recently invested in this shirt (on sale!) at Victoria’s Secret. I might be wearing it now. It might be ridiculously comfortable. It’s part of the workout collection, and I think it would actually be great for a pole class. It’s light enough to work up a sweat in, but there’s lots of ventilation and exposure to stick to the pole more.

Mine is "citron lime"...black was too boring.
Mine is “citron lime”…black was too boring.

Anyone else ever buy some fun workout wear? It’s nice not wearing just baggy t-shirts and shorts….

Leave a Reply

