Malfunctioning Mind & Magical Muffins

As of last night, I have 65 pages included in my research paper for my Masters. I still have to add a section to Chapter 4, and make some changes in Chapter 5. I may also need some additional Appendices. Then I get to make a tri-fold presentation board, evaluate two of my peers’ chapters, and get my final paper printed and bound. I’m really glad it costs thousands of dollars to complete a Masters and they still require purchases throughout the courses. It’s a little criminal…

Luckily, I’ve gotten to enjoy Field Day at school last week…I got owned in basketball, but then destroyed some students in push-ups and busted out my forearm stand. Also discovered that I am not very good at volleyball. Organized classes at the gym didn’t really happen, since I would be in the midst of working on my paper at school, but I made sure to get a little activity in each day.

Yesterday morning, I took a little time to make Double Chocolate Muffins and a Tomato-Basil-Mozzarella appetizer for The Chad’s family’s Father’s Day Picnic. (That was a mouthful).

The recipe for these muffins must be shared. This was given to me by a good friend…she’s responsible for getting The Chad and I hooked. Look closely at the ingredients…

Double Chocolate Chip Muffins

1 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. coconut flour
1/2 c. all purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
3/4 c. cocoa powder
–Mix and set aside

–Steam and puree the following:
1 c. raw spinach
1/2 c. sliced carrots (should be fork tender)

–Add the following to pureed mixture and mix thoroughly:
1 egg
1 c. honey
1 1/2 c. milk
small individual cup of natural applesauve
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. water

–Slowly add dry mixture to wet until fully incorporated. Do not overmix.

Looks a little iffy at this point...
Looks a little iffy at this point…

–Stir in 2 c. chocolate or carob chips (I used 60% cocoa chips)

–Bake 350 degrees; if using mini muffin tins, bake approx. 10 min. If using other sized tins, bake until muffin bounces back when pressed.

Final product - delicious and nutricious! (And disarmingly bite-sized...)
Final product – delicious and nutricious! (And disarmingly bite-sized…)

Seriously…give these bad boys a whirl. Ultimately, it’d be great to eliminate the white flour. I’m considering replacing it with more coconut flour, as well as the regular milk with almond milk. I’d need to get to Wegman’s for some carob chips…

Leave a Reply

