That’s a Spicy Meatball

Eating fruits and veggies continued through today. Nice progress.

I’ve gotten back into my groove of making dinner. Despite the extra time since we don’t have school, The Chad and I have fallen into a pattern of “quick fixes” for dinner (pizza, mooching off parents, eating out, etc.). Clearly…the best choices have not been made. Last night, I made chicken fingers with panko bread crumbs with a ginormous salad and corn on the cob. Tonight, I went with a personal favorite: spaghetti and meatballs.

I’ll admit it: I love ground turkey. Sure, a thick, juicy burger can really hit the spot now and then, but I typically prefer the low-fat (less greasy and paler) cousin of ground beef. I’ve made spaghetti sauce just with the browned meat stirred in, but I felt a little bold and looked up a recipe online…just for kicks and giggles. I found THIS recipe at allrecipes.com, but quickly discovered I did not have many of the ingredients. So I basically used the oven temperature and cooking time. But cooking time wound up different anyways.

ingredients:
1 lb. ground turkey (93% lean)
1 egg
1/3 c. shredded parmesan cheese
2/3 c. panko bread crumbs
1/4 c. tomato sauce
1 Tbsp. Italian seasoning (rosemary, basil, etc.)
a few shakes of garlic powder
a few more shakes of red pepper flakes (more = spicier!)

directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl. (I like to do this by hand…)
3. Line cookie sheet with foil or parchment paper. Roll meat mixture into large balls (HAH) and place on cookie sheet approx. 1 inch apart (they won’t spread and combine like cookies).
4. Lightly drizzle grapeseed oil (or olive oil) over meatballs.
5. Bake in the oven for about 12 minutes, turning halfway through.

I let those bad boys simmer in Newman’s Own spaghetti sauce (I forget the specific type…but I’ve refrained from making my own tomato sauce ever since I read nasty things about any canned tomato products…booo!). Whipped up some thin whole wheat spaghetti, and enjoyed. Oh, not to mention the corn on the cob. Again. That Chad put Aw, Shucks seasoning on. Anyone familiar with Aw, Shucks? It’s awesome. Man. This is such a satisfying, hearty meal!

Stay hungry, my friends.

Leave a Reply

