Curse You, Pinterest!

For every all-natural shopping list, protein bar, and organic crock pot recipe I have on Pinterest, there are at least 5 fantastically decadent, sugary, totally processed delights that I drool over.

Tomorrow, The Chad and I are helping at our friend’s OI (Osteogenesis Imperfecta) carnival. Her son is afflicted with the disorder, and they began a carnival fundraiser last year that donates to OI research. Of course, we offered our help. The Chad, being incredibly artistic and handy, is busy making the coolest jail cell for a game, and I was asked to contribute a dessert for a bake sale.

Allow me to introduce you to the fruity cousin of Puppy Chow (you may have called them Muddy Buddies or Monkey Munch, even though that’s incorrect). This confectionary masterpiece has been taunting me all morning. I found the recipe on Pinterest, of course, and used this recipe from Lemon Tree Dwelling. Do yourself a favor and make this. Eat it in one sitting. Because it is very possible to do and very likely you will want to.

Lemon Bar Puppy Chow

8 c. Rice Chex cereal
1 c. white chocolate chips or candy melts
1/2 c. lemon curd
1/4 c. butter
1 1/2 c. powdered sugar

1. Melt white chocolate, butter, and lemon curd in a small saucepan over low heat, stirring constantly.
2. Pour Rice Chex into a large paper bag (grocery size) and pour melted lemon mixture over cereal. Fold the bag to seal and shake to coat cereal.
3. Add powdered sugar to paper bag and shake once more to coat.
4. Spread out on cookie sheet to cool; once completely cool, store at room temperature in airtight containers.

Lemon Heaven
Lemon Heaven

After making these, I dared to dream of using key lime curd, rather than the lemon. Sweet, fancy Moses. Not to say I don’t like the original chocolate and peanut butter Puppy Chow, but this is seriously a refreshing, not overly sweet version that makes me swoon! I’m not really beating my brains out to think of healthy substitutions as of yet. In fact, I am hiding in the basement typing this in order to escape the allure of eating the entire tray. I sampled, but I dare not set aside a serving for myself. Or The Chad. He is also a threat to their well-being. Maybe I should go check on them…

I still have to handle them to bag them up for the carnival. Be strong, Maddie. Be strong. They’re for the kids…

Leave a Reply

