Hot Hula Training

The Haka @ Mai Kai, Ft. Lauderdale
The Haka @ Mai Kai, Ft. Lauderdale

When The Chad and I went to Ft. Lauderdale back in June, we absolutely had to have dinner at the Mai Kai Restaurant & Polynesian Show. It opened in the 50s, and still lives on today (without too much change to its original grandeur) as the last operating tiki bar.

Anyways, we went – had the most incredible food! – and took in the Polynesian Revue. We were both hypnotized by the rocking hips of the hula girls…clearly, for different reasons. I came home and begged Heather to find a hula instructor.

Well, it would appear as though hula is meant to be in my life. This Saturday, I’ll be getting trained in Hot Hula Fitness at Sweat Like A Girl!

 

hot_hula_fitness_1

I’ve been doing a lot of research, and it seems pretty awesome. Definitely not something that I would want to base my entire workouts around, but a perfect supplement to weight training and my other bootcamps. I find myself constantly lost in Zumba, and this is an excellent alternative that has more significance for me, personally…and I think it is a lot, well, sexier. I mean, who doesn’t watch Lilo and Stitch and then dream of being a hula dancer?! Just me? Whoops.

Curious? Here is a little snippet that explains Hot Hula and shows a little sampling of the workout. I’m so excited that they got off the west coast! And what a great opportunity for me to teach a new format…FUN! 🙂

 

One thought on “Hot Hula Training

Leave a Reply

