New Fitness Venture

Hot Hula fitness @ Sweat Like A Girl/American Top Team
Hot Hula fitness @ Sweat Like A Girl

Yesterday from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m., I participated in Hot Hula fitness® training at Sweat Like A Girl. Wow. WOW. WOW.

Basically, you are in a squat. For an hour. But mine lasted so much longer. The moves and dances are based on Polynesian dancing (including hula from Hawai’i), but incorporate strength and weight to make it fitness-oriented.

Now, for an ex-athlete like me, this was a perfect workout for getting that long, slow burn that I crave from not having games. Zumba can be fun, but it really just isn’t my thing. This was low impact (my knees are achy from rugby in college), but intense. You really must concentrate on form and engaging your muscle groups in order to execute the moves. I just loved it so much!

By the end of the day, my Master Trainer Molly said I was set to teach on Monday. Clearly…I won’t be doing that. Another instructor from SLAG (Sweat Like A Girl – great acronym, huh?) also got certified, and we both want to practice and make sure we have the format down before we introduce the class at the gym. Since the program is based in Polynesian culture, it’s important to be respectful of the moves – as far as pronunciation and form. As an English as a Second Language teacher, I’ve always proceeded with cultural activities cautiously and empathetically. I have so much love for the Polynesian culture, that it really isn’t a major issue, but I want to look good and professional when I teach. Practice makes perfect.

I have to say…this training came at the perfect time for me. I’ve retired from the PoleKatz dance team – personal reasons regarding my career in education – and I’ve hit a bit of a plateau with teaching in fitness. Like I didn’t quite find my niche yet. And then Hot Hula comes along. After this, I feel revitalized and ready to spread the Aloha love to the Lehigh Valley! It is such a beautiful, difficult program, and I’m so excited to be a part of it.

Seriously, check out Hot Hula fitness® and see if it’s something you’d ever try. It’s starting to spread in the northeastern states! 🙂 Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

