Fresh Start

It all began at the farmer’s market in Kutztown this past Saturday.

IMAG2201 IMAG2202 IMAG2203

My purchases included: a bushel of honey crisp apples, two humongous zucchinis, a quart of blueberries, doughnut peaches, red peppers, green peppers, onions, yams, 3 lbs. turkey sausage, and 2 lbs. turkey breast tenderloin.

How much, you ask?

$55.

My eating habits dramatically improve when I have tasty, fresh produce. Giant typically does not cut it. Wegman’s has a high price tag. Hellooooooo, farmer’s market.

From all this shopping, I made a little stew.

IMAG2200

This is such an easy, filling meal…it makes the house smell amazing and warms up the gut and soul. I took those 3 lbs. of sausage, browned ’em up in a huge pot, then threw in some organic canned chunky tomatoes, a slew of potatoes, onions, peppers, and carrots. It simmered most of the afternoon away and served as supper for The Chad and I.

Sunday hit, and I fell apart. Lobster at my parents’ on Sunday – not to mention snacking on dark chocolate M&Ms, angel food cake (with fruit!)…and whipped cream…then Monday’s Oreo feast after supper. And I may have gone a little crazy with cheese and crackers prior to supper. Hey! I missed lunch!

The Chad and I returned home last night from aforemetioned Food Marathon and I went right into severe self-loathing mode. Beating myself down with terrible words…how ugly and fat and disgusting I was. Poor Chad-pole. Self-loathing woman is incredibly dangerous and blubbery.

In the midst of my first day back at school, I thought about how I let myself get off track. How I always make excuses for myself, and look to The Chad for guidance…or a kick in the butt from anyone. What I decided was that I can’t think of exercise as punishment for my bad eating habits, or food as my comfort. Exercise makes me feel good. Good food makes me feel good. People make me feel good. So I let myself have yesterday, and woke up with a new resolve and outlook.

More on that later…I have a Power Stretch class to attend 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

