Reappearance with a Recipe!

Oh, hi there!

There’s a lot of information to divulge. But I really want to share this recipe while I’m waiting for them…otherwise, my computer might take a poop on me and lose the page.

I used this recipe from Pardon the Dog Hair (the name threw me, too) since I just grabbed some slightly sour strawberries and zucchini at the farmer’s market yesterday.

Strawberry Zucchini Muffins
Makes 15 muffins
2 1/2 cups oatmeal
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
8 strawberries, finely chopped
1 1/2 zucchinis, finely chopped
3/4 cup applesauce (I subbed with Oikos Strawberry Greek Yogurt for flavor and lack of applesauce)
1/3 cup maple syrup
1 egg
1/3 cup egg whites (and I just popped two eggs in there since I don’t like wasting the yolks…or maybe I’m a little lazy today)
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, stir together oatmeal, flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.  Once combined, add in remaining ingredients and stir until well mixed. Pour batter into prepared muffin tins and bake for about 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

22 minutes to go…will come back with results and pictures. Hopefully.

Leave a Reply

