May the Fourth Be With You

An excellent day to celebrate Star Wars! In Pennsylvania, it was a balmy 85 degrees. However, working on the top floor of a 100 year old school gets rather toasty rather quickly! Luckily, the fans have not had to reappear yet.

Even better…I had chicken eggs delivered to my classroom today! Our local 4H organized an embryology unit for our third graders, and we’ll get to care for and observe chicks for the next two weeks.

Annnnnnyway, a big triumph was making it to “Dumbbell Diva” tonight. I haven’t been making it to Monday night classes, and I know that I’m more likely to be led astray from my clean eating when I don’t work out. My friend, Jen, taught the class this evening. She’s trained in Tabata Bootcamp, also, and I loved that she mixed in 40-30-20 intervals. Rather than a true Tabata (20 seconds on, 10 seconds off for 8 reps), the 40-30-20 intervals have you doing a move at a “hard” level for 40 seconds with 20 seconds rest, then “harder” for 30 seconds with 15 seconds rest, and finally “hardest” for 20 seconds with 10 seconds rest. I like the progression of the moves, and usually find that I can dig a little deeper for those final 20 seconds. Jen also did a good job mixing up arms and legs, and we rounded out the class with core work.

Unfortunately, the late class time, combined with my travel time, had me walking in the door at 8:40. I was planning on making dinner prior to class, but it just didn’t happen. The Chad is a great sport and waited until I got home, but I am not a fan of such a late dinner. I’m just not on my game with meal prep this week.

Full moon tonight. Better put on Breaking Bad and get to bed so I’m prepared to deal with what tomorrow will bring!

Leave a Reply

