Fourth Food Fun & Phone Work

Well…what a crazy week it has been! I had every intention of writing more entries, but I started doing a little secretarial work at my dad’s office. I’ve hit the gym or done some housework, and just didn’t have the time or energy. Thursdays and Fridays are free, so here we go!

Channeling my inner Joan from
Channeling my inner Joan from “Mad Men”.

On the 4th of July, I ended up spending some time with some of my mom’s side at my grandmother’s house. I had originally made some Slow Cooker Chicken Caesar Sandwiches, but it didn’t yield as much as I hoped. Disclaimer: they are not super healthy, and I did not substitute anything to make them healthier (HA)…but they are delicious! The Chad loves them and made sure they didn’t go to waste. Luckily, I had a little time, so I made an Asian black bean pasta salad, which is one my favorite recipes from the Eat To Be Awesome program.

Behold: black bean pasta!
Behold: black bean pasta!

This black bean pasta is such a gem! It has twice as much protein as carbs, and tastes amazing! There are some other varieties of this pasta from other beans that I’m excited to try. Originally, I only found this at Giant food stores, but apparently they’re available at Wegman’s now…but I didn’t see any when I shopped there on Tuesday 😦

You cook up the pasta, rinse and drain well. Then, I made life easier for myself. There can be a lot of chopping and slicing, so I had bought some pre-sliced produce.

Cabbage already sliced from a previous recipe using my food processor, broccoli slaw, and sliced bell peppers.
Cabbage already sliced from a previous recipe using my food processor, broccoli slaw, and sliced bell peppers.

I also chopped up some red onion and threw everything together. The dressing is balsamic vinegar, sesame oil, raw honey, garlic powder, salt, and pepper…and you toss everything together. It got rave reviews from Grandma Sue, my mom, and my uncle (the veggie eaters!). Luckily, we had shrimp, scallops, and tuna on the grill instead of the typical hamburgers and hot dogs. I loved having a healthy option along with me.

Watching the Capitol fireworks display...on tv.
Watching the Capitol fireworks display…on tv.

I love this room at my grandma’s house. It has exposed wood beams and a vaulted ceiling.

Another gem from Grammy Sue's - throwback picture of my mom! I love this photo of her.
Another gem from Grammy Sue’s – throwback picture of my mom! I love this photo of her.

Sunday rolled along and we went over to The Chad’s aunt and uncle’s house for some poolside fun.

Frankie and Taco
Frankie and Taco

Frankie was loving time with his “cousin”.

I made a fantastic blueberry and strawberry cobbler using THIS recipe as the base. Obviously, I did not use as many blueberries and added strawberries. I made this once before, and The Chad noted that it probably didn’t need so much sugar. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and little honey in the filling. Unfortunately, I baked this right before we left for the pool, and it was dug into shortly after dinner was served. We still have a little bit in the fridge (rationing off a little bit every day haha), but it does not make for an attractive picture.

I did, however, snap the following photo:

Water challenge through my nutrition class.
Water challenge through my nutrition class.

My nutrition class was given the challenge of truly trying to drink at least 8 glasses of water each day. We were asked to take pictures and add them to the Facebook group or Twitter page for the Shaw Academy. Drinking water has become a habit for me, so this challenge wasn’t so bad!

I’ve been taking screen shots of my class, but I’ve discovered that I can’t upload them here since they are a bmp file instead of jpg…I’ll figure it out! Until then…Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

