Pool, Peaches, Purchases, Planning, Purging

So…maybe no more alliterative title for my blog posts. After this one. It just worked so well!

Pennsylvania had a bit of a heatwave, so that sent The Chad and I on a mission to find relief from the heat.

Ahhh, paradise...for Pennsylvania.
Ahhh, paradise…for Pennsylvania.

Thank goodness for family members with an incredible backyard and pool! Even Frankie got in on the action…

Floating Fuzz
Floating Fuzz

The work week came all too quickly. While I am upset about missing time at home with The Chad and Frankie, the extra money has been welcome in our budget. My car needed some major repairs, and still needs new tires! Plus, we’re trying to get a patio and our hot tub installed. Anyway…it’s been really fun to work with my brothers and dad. I love seeing them more frequently, and we’ll have lunch together whenever we can. This has also allowed me to explore a little more of Bethlehem. I was introduced to Backdoor Bakeshop yesterday. Well. My, my, my. I can’t even type the words to describe the feelings. Here’s a picture of my lunch that day:

Described on their website as: SUMMER PEACH SALAD {V} fresh summer peaches from Scholl Orchards, cucumber, almonds, field greens, house-made poppy seed dressing - served with our signature roasted garlic butter cookie
Described on their website as: SUMMER PEACH SALAD {V}
fresh summer peaches from Scholl Orchards, cucumber, almonds, field greens, house-made poppy seed dressing – served with our signature roasted garlic butter cookie

Now, I know some of you may be turning up your nose at that roasted garlic butter cookie…but I actually thought it was pretty tasty! A great garlic flavor off-set by a little sweetness. Those peaches were perfectly sweet. I was a happy camper with this meal.

Working downtown has also left me dangerously close to Seasons – that olive oil and vinegar store. Well, I had to make a stop. I’ve been making that Asian black bean pasta salad often and need a different vinegar flavor than balsamic or coconut.

Garlic olive oil, Honey Serrano white balsamic, roasted garlic infused salt, and dried Asian pears
Garlic olive oil, Honey Serrano white balsamic, roasted garlic infused salt, and dried Asian pears

I’m really looking forward to whipping some creations up in the kitchen tomorrow!

Speaking of – I started meal planning for next week. I’ve been following the Eat To Be Awesome program for a while now, and instead of a typical meal plan, Erin gave me breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack options. So, I printed out a blank template and started thinking about what I was going to eat next week.

WP_20150722_011

While it was really helpful to have the meal plans with the recipes, sometimes it got overwhelming to make the recipes required for the day. I really liked choosing my own meals since I made it fit my schedule and wasn’t afraid of a few days of the same meals. Breakfast and lunches need to be relatively easy for me, especially since I work Monday through Wednesday. The tricky part was writing up my grocery list. I see a trip to the farmer’s market in the near future. You know what else made this challenging? Considering The Chad. He likes meat. And runs on man serving sizes. So I made a little mini-meal plan and considered options he could have. [Pleeeeeeeeeeeease let my plan work…]

Luckily, I held off on grocery shopping today, and instead…purged the refrigerator. Garbage day is tomorrow, so it was a good time to rid our fridge of old, expired, rotting food and clean it out. I just looked at the adjectives I chose to describe the contents of our fridge and realized it sounds like an episode of Hoarders. Maybe this will inspire someone else to take a look inside their fridge. Old salad dressings? Leftovers from a meal that got shoved in the back and forgotten about? Produce that you should’ve used and it turned? C’mon. Let those without expired food cast the first stone.

It also felt good to clean off those shelves. Hopefully, this fresh start, plus a meal plan, will minimize the waste. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

