The Danger of Comparison

Pedal Power!
Pedal Power!

HAH! I was so excited to use this graphic to promote this morning’s classes at SLAG. Great Pinterest find.

The Chad gave me some awesome tunes (and we also discovered how awesome Carly Rae Jepsen’s new CD is! There were only 2-3 songs that didn’t jive with me), so I put together a fun “Girl Power” playlist for my class. Had to shake things up!

Girl Power Pedal

Everyone was singing and dancing along – “It’s Raining Men” and “Maniac” were especially well-received. On a side note, I’ve begun using Be Funky to edit my photos, and I’ve found it so much easier (and better!) to use than Pic Monkey.

My dear friend, Meredith, came to class this morning, and we had a great discussion over brunch. We’ve both gone through some major life changes recently, and we were discussing some of our classmates from high school who seemed to be doing so well. Then we gossiped about some inside information we knew about those people. How often do we fall into that trap? I mean, we all want to present ourselves a certain way, especially in the age of social media and inviting strangers to see all sorts of personal information. You only want to use the best pictures of yourself, provide information on the amazing things you’re doing, and carefully craft your statements that you share publicly (well, I know I do. Some people aren’t so careful with their words).

behind the scenes

We need to go through life with a healthy dose of perspective. We like to think that we can control so many aspects of our lives, but I suppose we can only control our individual actions and how we personally deal with situations. I saw tons of other pictures on Pinterest with little reminders that you cannot compare your beginning to someone else’s middle, your chapter 1 to someone else’s chapter 15, etc. But I really connected to this one. Meredith and I went through how much drama others are encountering…how they’re actually affording those fabulous vacations, marital problems…among other typical girlfriend gossip.

This conversation came at just the right time for me. I’ve been getting caught up in thinking everyone else’s life is superior to mine, how much stronger and skinnier they are than me, and beating myself up. A recipe for disaster! Now, I feel prepared to keep moving on my own journey. This week, I’m trying to get myself back into my workout schedule and signed up for the classes I want to take consistently throughout the school year. There’s room for flexibility, but I’m looking forward to having a routine again. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep focusing on myself, and not on others at a different point in their journeys.

Leave a Reply

