In The Mood

I know it’s only Friday, but The Chad and I have made it through the work week with getting up and making our meals for the day. We didn’t eat out once (though one day I grabbed a Starbucks soy latte for my in-service). I’m so proud of The Chad for choosing to make better food decisions and not caving in to cravings for sugar or fast food.

I’ve been finding myself not so hungry. It comes time for lunch, and I’m not really hungry…but time is limited and I need to eat or I won’t have anything in my stomach. I’ve been having little things – baby carrots, almonds, yogurt, and I’m done. I’ve been eating some kind of protein source – a cheese stick or protein bar – around 3 p.m. to boost me through the afternoon until dinner.

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday evenings were spent at the gym.

Masala Bhangra & Pole Sweat on Tuesday
Masala Bhangra & Pole Sweat on Tuesday
Sweat Camp (back left in the purple pants)
Sweat Camp (back left in the purple pants)
Dead after Sweat Camp
Dead after Sweat Camp
1940s party with pole and chair dances, and some Jitterbug action!
1940s party with pole and chair dances, and some Jitterbug action!

It was a jam-packed week. Sweat Camp was a new experience for me. The nutritionist, Erin, runs the class and had 24 “stations” with different exercises. We cycled through each station for 45 seconds doing the move, then 15 seconds to rest and move. Pictured above, we were using rope-less jump ropes, figure 8 tubing for squat jumps, and Buddy System bands to pull our bodies towards the poles. Some other stations included plank jacks, donkey kicks, and box jumps. With some time left over after the first round, we went through everything again for 30 second sets with 5 seconds rest. Can you blame me for dying? Whew! I’m still feeling sore in my shoulders! But…I loved it!

I just feel badly, because all this time at the gym has meant less time at home. The Chad has been so good about cleaning dishes and taking care of Frankie while I’m working out, but I’m trying to find a good balance. I’m nervous for school (with students) next week since my responsibilities have changed and I may need to spend extra time at my building.

I’m looking forward to this long weekend…we have some picnics with our families planned and workouts to do, but I have to finish setting up my classroom! Oy. Time to get moving!

Leave a Reply

