Reflections

To begin:

Tomorrow is such an important day in our history, and it’s hard to believe that 14 years have passed. I hope that the memory of the people who lost their lives, as well as those involved in rescue efforts, are honored properly.

On a less somber note…

I had to make sure I was prepared for this week, especially after a long Labor Day weekend and with the start of a regular school schedule. I planned to pack my lunch and set out my clothes the night before, so I could get up by 5:30 and be set to have breakfast and get ready to be out the door by 6:15. My goal was to be at school around 6:30 since parking is so limited. Personally, I prefer getting in early to prepare for the day, rather than stay late.

WP_20150908_003
School spirit – purple and gold! And keeping cool with some iced coffee…

Did I ever mention the lack of air conditioning in my building? This week surely proved we were in the innermost circle of Hell as far as temperatures were concerned. With high humidity and 95+ degree weather, the students and I dripped our way through the first two days. My nighttime prep had me getting up feeling less frantic in the morning and allowed me to make healthy food choices to fuel me through the oppressive heat. I jumped on the scale on Wednesday and was excited to see a loss of 2 pounds, though I felt fairly certain it was a side effect of my classroom sauna!

I taught Pedal Power this past Sunday, and covered a class yesterday for another instructor. Some of the ladies came up to me and told me how much they loved my music selections, especially since the lyrics match the mood of the class (I used the Jacksons’ “Can You Feel It” for a climb with a heavy resistance…they loved that). That also set me up to take Sweat Camp with Erin…and boy, did she deliver a hard workout! This week, between each 45 second set, she made us do 10 squats, push-ups, or burpees. At the end, we did some sprints outside. In the heat. Despite the cardio from Pedal Power, I still find running too jarring and…frankly…awful. Just not the exercise for me.

Some final thoughts:

This afternoon, I found myself with a little down time after I made dinner and The Chad had his “Meet The Teacher” night at school. I came across a video where this “comedian” named Nicole Arbour narrated an open letter to fat people. I saw a ton of subsequent rebuttals and replies. (You can watch the video here if you’re up to it.)

I’m so, so sad that we spend so much time making videos and replying to them…slinging hatred back and forth. What problems are solved with anger and slinging insults? Unfortunately, that’s becoming the MO of Americans. Starting arguments, engaging in public online battles…for the sake of saying something and garnering a little attention. And what happens? Feelings are hurt, and what could have been a helpful relationship is never possible because the people involved cannot express their opinions respectfully.

And what’s the real crime here? Food sources, not to mention food quality. Accessibility. Food waste. Which brings me to another discovery I made: a documentary about how much food is wasted. It’s called Just Eat It (you can watch the trailer with that link). I just wish our society was more informed…or had the desire to be informed. I know I don’t have all the answers, but one of the greatest side effects of joining the Eat To Be Awesome group is that we’re constantly seeking information and sharing it among our membership. That community of women who are committed to learning about leading a healthy lifestyle mean so much to me, and my hope is to inspire others and share what I’ve learned.

I think I got a little deep there. That means it’s bedtime. Thank goodness for a short school week – at least my lunch and clothes are picked out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

