In the Swing of Things

Phew – one full week down in the 15-16 school year! Working is definitely overrated. Maybe I should’ve married for money instead of love.

Kidding. (maybe)

So, main goal for the week to stay on track was to keep packing lunches at night and having my clothes ready for the next morning. Mission: accomplished! A few evenings were a little tricky because I ended up heading to bed a little later than I wanted, but I still managed to get my things together. This meant I’d have a fueling snack and nutritious lunch all set, as opposed to last year’s debacle of throwing whatever I could find in a rush to get out the door in the morning.

Enter: The most delightful mid-morning snack. Truly a festival of flavor for your mouth.

Greek Whips!
Greek Whips!

The Chad spied these on the shelf at Wegman’s during our most recent trip and we just had to get some for our lunch bags. We also got “Vanilla Cupcake” flavor. I’m glad I ate this in the privacy of my classroom, because it could have sounded suspect.

Since we’re on the topic of food…I only snapped a picture of my post-workout breakfast yesterday. Major food fail. But, it was a good one.

WP_20150919_001
Eggs with sauteed spinach, feta, and ham. Yes!

And yes, I was quite generous with the spinach. From personal experience…expiration dates on spinach bags should be heeded. So there’s a healthy amount of spinach in there. The ham is, of course, from Wegman’s. It’s organic and uncured. Wow, that sounded a wee bit uppity. Rationale for that one is that I am trying to be somewhat cautious as to what kind of deli meats I buy. To be honest, my knowledge only extends as far as “nitrates bad”. So, I take recommendations from Erin, the nutritionist and buy what seems to be good.

Other highlights of the week (in pictures):

Oil of Oregano - suggested by a friend at the gym for help with congestion and headaches. Need to pick some up now that the kids are bringing around germs!
Oil of Oregano – suggested by a friend at the gym for help with congestion and headaches. Need to pick some up now that the kids are bringing around germs!
Fetch with Frankie as the cooler weather begins to set in.
Fetch with Frankie as the cooler weather begins to set in.
My sister's roller derby match - complete with halftime entertainment!
My sister’s roller derby match – complete with halftime entertainment!
And an opposing player bearing the moniker "Truffle Shuffle". No dance. Saddened.
And an opposing player bearing the moniker “Truffle Shuffle”. No dance. Saddened.
And flooding of the rink from a torrential downpour! (We were in an open air rink)
And flooding of the rink from a torrential downpour! (We were in an open air rink)
Subbing for Pedal Power after school! Playlist, water, towel...ready to go!
Subbing for Pedal Power after school! Playlist, water, towel…ready to go!
And too much time before class...so I took selfies. Blurry selfies.
And too much time before class…so I took selfies. Blurry selfies.

Where does that leave us today? The Chad provided some sweet, sweet tunes for Pedal Power this morning. Playlist forthcoming. Singing along makes the workout go so much faster. Then, The Chad went with me to visit my family and watch a bit of the atrocious Eagles v. Cowboys game. I got some grading done, and prepped my lunch and clothes. Oh, and the laundry. Why is there always so much laundry?

I think I’ve exhausted  my brain power for the day. Time to shut down and recharge for another week.

Leave a Reply

