Feasting Aftermath

I know I’m not alone in struggling to get back on track after a holiday or event. I was doing so well, and then boom. Thanksgiving. Feasting. Constantly food supply. Padding evolving. Workouts waning.

Luckily, I have another 5K on the horizon…this coming Saturday, to be precise. Could it be that I’ve become a casual runner? I won’t verbalize it. That would make things too real. But with all the cardio training I’ve gotten from spin, I think running has become a lot more manageable. My struggle now remains in getting back in my consistent workout groove, especially with Christmas (and cookies) heading my way.

Let’s be real. My diet has taken a nose dive, too. I’ve been relying on convenience and easy, so nutrition has taken a back seat. I’ve also been unable to do my morning smoothies because of the cold. Who wants an icy drink when your car is frosted over? Yeesh.

Erin, the nutritionist, suggested a chia pudding or a quinoa bowl as substitutions. So, with pumpkin spice kefir begging for use in my fridge, and bag of chia seeds on hand, I set to work.

WP_20151204_001Into the mix: 1 1/2 c. pumpkin spice kefir, 1/2 c. unsweetened vanilla almond cashew milk, 8 Tsp. chia seeds, 1 tsp. honey (or maple syrup), sprinklings of cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. It goes in the fridge overnight and then it’s a manageably cool, easy breakfast. The pumpkin spice kefir was delicious, and I think this would’ve been even better with a dollop of pureed pumpkin and some walnuts. A great way to start the day!

Hopefully, this evening’s shopping trip will have me armed for a week full of nourishing meals, rather than convenient mini-feasts.

The Chad and I also got to do something spectacular yesterday.

WP_20151205_004
Frankie: Quality control manager
WP_20151205_006
The Chad: Professional tree groomer
WP_20151205_010
Festive perfection! I love our tree!
WP_20151205_011
No better way to cap off a day of decorating than with “Home Alone”.

Time to start the shopping list. Happy Sunday! New playlist to come!

Leave a Reply

