A Holiday Review

It’s been a wild two weeks since my last blog post.

Unfortunately, a colleague of mine passed away from a heart attack in the parking lot of a gym on Tuesday, December 15. He was only 33 years old. In the wake of his death, our school struggled to keep it together for the teachers he was closest to, and the students affected by the loss. We laughed while reminiscing, and cried for the emptiness. At my age, death isn’t really on the forefront of my mind. I don’t feel completely invincible at this point in my life, but I wasn’t prepared to be reminded of my mortality in such a shocking way. This, of course, forced me to take a closer look at my own life and re-evaluate my priorities.

Anyway. From the ashes of this tragedy came a very welcome break.

WP_20151223_007
Door decorating at school. I did nothing to help the students (can you tell?)
WP_20151222_003
Fancy elf socks on the instructors at Sweat Like A Girl (I’m in the middle)

Despite the tropical weather (72 degrees on Christmas Eve Day!), The Chad and I made our usual Tour de Lehigh Valley to visit friends and family for various celebrations. We sang, we ate, and we even had a bonfire at The Chad’s parents’ house Christmas Eve!

Then, the magic began…

WP_20151225_003
Santa made it!
WP_20151225_015
Chad’s new winter coat…just in case we ever get snow this winter.
WP_20151225_017
The Chad is the master gift giver.
WP_20151225_018 (2)
My most adorable niece. Seriously. Cutest ever.
WP_20151225_026
The Chad’s brother devils him while he sleeps.

There was so much in between. I am so overwhelmed by the thoughtfulness of the gifts The Chad found for me. When I say he is the master gift-giver, I mean he could make a career out of it. He is that good.

More leftovers were consumed yesterday, and I started getting some semblance of my regular schedule today with Pedal Power. Of course, I had to switch out my Christmas workout wear for something equally fun and “seasonal”, if you will…

WP_20151227_005
The Force is with me!

One of the awesome gifts The Chad got me is a planner from Erin Condren. It is beautiful and I can’t wait to use it to help me keep my goals on track for the coming year. I’ve been having fun filling it with birthdays and appointments I have scheduled, and have been using it to plan workouts. I also hope to add financial and meal planning stuff to it. It is seriously so awesome.

The Chad is playing with a new Christmas toy as we speak…the Amazon Echo. He keeps picking songs for it to play. I think it needs more of my influence. Off I go!

Leave a Reply

